Childhood. Revisited.

13 Oct

Cookies! I don’t know how anyone can’t get excited about cookies. Even if you don’t like chocolate (yes, I know people who don’t and I think they’re crazy), or if you’re allergic to peanut butter, or are on a gluten-free diet, whatever. It doesn’t matter. There is a cookie for everyone. I think most of us grew up with fond memories of chocolate-chip cookies. My mom usually made the boxed kind, that is if she was feeling particularly energetic and didn’t want to indulge on a whole bag of Keelber Soft Batch. I never noticed that her cookies weren’t made from scratch, or that the processed, pre-bagged kind from the store shelves tasted considerably different than ones fresh from the bakery. To me, cookies were cookies, and they were always so darn good.

I’ve imagined what I’ll be like as a mom. I’ve equated the bestowal of baked goods on one’s children as a sign of love. Maybe nowadays with all the childhood obesity issues that’s not such a great idea. But I genuinely enjoy baking. So I think I’m going to be one of those moms who’ll bake cookies for her kids after a long school week, or after soccer matches and dance practices, or whenever one of them gets an A. I’ll just have to make my kids play outside after school and participate in sports to burn off all the fatty goodness I feed them. Besides, what’s childhood without the pure happiness of eating a warm and soft cookie, straight from Mom?

So to prepare for that part of my future, I’ve started trying cookie recipes, to see which ones I like the most and to try adapting them to create a recipe of my own. I don’t have kids yet to bake these cookies for, but that’s ok. Parenthood can wait. For now, I’m happy to indulge my friends. Besides, cookies bring out the kid in anyone.

Peanut Butter-Oatmeal Chocolate-Chip Cookies, from Brown-Eyed Baker

Makes about 16 cookies

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick (½ cup) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • ½ cup creamy peanut butter
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup light brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside. (I only have 1 baking sheet at the moment, so I did a small batch and then another after).

2. Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.

3. With a mixer (both a stand or hand mixer will work) on medium speed, cream together the butter, peanut butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar and vanilla extract, about 3 minutes. Add the egg and beat to combine. On low speed, gradually add the flour until just combined. Stir in the oats, and then the chocolate chips.

4. Use a large cookie scoop (3 tablespoons) and drop dough onto prepared baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Bake for 10 minutes, or until the cookies are lightly golden. (My oven is a little weird, it took about 13 minutes for these to bake). Cool completely on the baking sheet. (Or wait till they’re just warm and have at it. A couple minutes out of the oven is the best in my opinion). If you still have any left, store in an airtight container at room temperature.

3 Responses to “Childhood. Revisited.”

  1. Sheridan October 13, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    I love Oatmeal Chocolate Chip, but I’ve never thought of adding peanut butter. Great recipe!

    Also, our ovens are weird. It takes a few minutes longer for me to bake cupcakes and I’m always afraid the cake will fall.

    • TheNoviceNosher October 14, 2010 at 4:26 pm #

      The peanut butter totally adds a great flavor to the chocolate – its my favorite combo. And I’m glad to hear its not just my oven that’s weird, at least I know if something doesn’t heat enough or rise properly, it’s not necessarily my fault!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Healthy, toasted love « The Novice Nosher - October 22, 2010

    […] and dandy for a solo night in, but I get so much more satisfaction when I see friends devour my peanut butter chocolate chip cookies or when The Bf and I tag-team it in the kitchen with prepping Amatriciana. So I felt surprisingly […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

