When the brown bag just doesn’t cut it

13 Jul

I have a love/hate relationship with food trucks. I love them, really, because of all the delicious food that comes out of them. But I hate that they make my sad leftovers and wimpy sandwiches just that – sad and wimpy. I’d rather have a fresh deep dish pizza made by some dudes in a truck for $8 than a homemade egg salad sandwich.

I don’t actually eat lunch from food trucks all that often, maybe once a week. I start to feel guilty if I’ve eaten out for lunch more than that, because I know it’s healthier to eat something you’ve prepared yourself as often as possible. Plus, it can get expensive to pay for lunch often. But on those days when I have enough cash on hand and I really can’t ignore that hankering for something different, Lindsey (a.k.a. The Internationally-Minded American) and I will take a long lunch break to walk, get some fresh air, and break up the monotony of bagged lunches and leftovers.

We’re suckers for the macaroni and cheese from CapMac, but here are some highlights from recent lunchtime ventures:

Dangerously Delicious Pies: The pie shop originally from Baltimore with a DC location has it’s own truck, much to my sheer happiness because I loooove their Baltimore Bomb pie. It’s made with Berger cookies, which I’ve never actually eaten outside of this pie but are probably the thing that makes it awesome. Oh and their SMOG (Steak, Mushroom, Onion and Gruyere) is rich and hearty and tastes like a feast on a crust.

BasilThyme: This truck is one of the newer ones that has recently started running around here in DC. They churn out freshly-made pastas like the meat lasagna above. It tasted pretty darn authentic and home-made, which is a feat considering they don’t use dried pastas and uh, it comes out of a truck and not a standing kitchen.

PORC Mobile: The Purveyors of Rolling Cuisine specialize in BBQ dishes like pork sandwiches and sausages, but what I find pretty inventive about this truck is that they try to cater to the vegetarians out there. I tried their veggie bar-b-que dish one day, just to see if they could pull it off, and I was pleasantly surprised. It had that bar-b-que tanginess with some spiciness but there were other flavors that gave it a more exotic twist (unfortunately, I couldn’t actually discern what those flavors were). It had black and red beans with peppers and onions, on top of a bed of couscous and served with a side of coleslaw (which I’m happy to say wasn’t drenched in mayo).

There are always new trucks popping up here in DC, so I’m looking forward to trying even more new dishes for lunch. AND, the next Truckeroo, DC’s monthly food truck gathering, is this Friday. You know where I’ll be that evening…

Any food trucks rolling around in your ‘hood? If not, what would you want to be served from a truck?

 

 

 

4 Responses to “When the brown bag just doesn’t cut it”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide July 13, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    I love all those options. I normally skip lunch, I know it’s odd. But my wife loves to brown bag, usually takes leftovers. Sometimes you just have to get out of the office.

  2. theinternationallymindedamerican July 13, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    Great post! Um, and yes I’m hoping that Cap Mac gets over to our neighborhood REALLY soon…

  3. Sheridan July 13, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    I’m a sucker for Takorean’s vegetarian tacos (takos?) and El Floridano’s tempeh banh mi.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

