Versatile Fruit

18 Aug

Do you ever suddenly crave something totally out of the blue, something you’ve never really wanted so much before but suddenly want? Like how pregnant women will crave pickles with ice cream. Ok, this isn’t that extreme but this was just as random for me. One Sunday, I just craved something sweet and fruity, which if you know me, is completely off. My sweet cravings are almost always chocolate-based, and I have to force myself to eat fruit daily. But on this day, all I wanted to do was swing by Safeway and buy boxes of berries. All I wanted was fruit compote.

Fruit compote is so easy to make and has so many uses. You can serve it with anything. Since it’s summertime, I love topping scoops of vanilla bean ice cream with this. But come winter, I’d definitely put this on top of sponge or Angel food cake. Or if I’m feeling more ambitious on a weekend morning, I’ll make French toast (as opposed to just pouring myself a bowl of cereal), and I’ll put this compote on top. Heck, you could even put some in a bowl and just spray some whipped cream and there you go.

Berry Compote

  • 2 cups blueberries
  • 1 cup blackberries
  • 1 cup raspberries
  • ¼ cup sugar (or ½ cup, depending on how sweet you want the compote to be)

NosherNotes: You can pretty much use any combination of berries or fruit in whatever amount – I happened to have a ton of blueberries so I decided to use more of those, but you could always just use 1 cup of each, 2 cups of each, whatever. The amount I used yielded about 3 cups of compote. Or the equivalent of 1 week’s worth of desserts every night.

Directions: Place berries in a small or medium pot/saucepan on medium heat. Add the sugar and mix together with the berries. Let this cook down for about 8 minutes, until the mixture creates a chunky sauce. Let cool for about 10 minutes, and serve warm.  The compote can be stored in the freezer for about a week and reheated either on the stovetop or the microwave (depending on your laziness level).

This counts for my daily servings of fruit, right? 😛

Leave a Reply

