Quick and easy wins the race (this time)

12 Nov

I don’t know a lot of people who don’t like shrimp (although there are plenty who are allergic), but I do know a lot of people who aren’t partial to fish. I have barely cracked into the realm of fish dishes but somehow I have a few species already that are my usuals: salmon, halibut and tilapia. Although I did attempt broiling sea bass and eating that with the lemon-coriander marinade and it turned out pretty good!

Tilapia is probably the first fish I ever attempted to cook on my own, with a VERY easy recipe that I remember well but don’t remember where I found it. I basically season it with salt, pepper, and the juice of a half a lemon, wrap it in foil and bake it at around 350-375 for about 7 minutes, until flaky. I top it with a mixture of a tablespoon of horseradish with a tablespoon of mayo and chopped up some cilantro. I also eat it with some couscous and steamed asparagus. It’s not amazing, but it is filling, and a well-balanced meal. I actually made that for my dad once when my mom was in the Philippines and he loved it. But then again, he’s my dad. He’ll eat anything I serve him.

This tilapia dish is equally as quick and easy as the one I just described (so you get the bonus of two recipes today! I guess it makes up for the lack of difficulty in both). I actually found the salsa recipe on Epicurious in another recipe and realized that it would taste great with a very light, flaky fish with subtle taste. Of course, just the fish and salsa alone is probably not enough to fill any belly for dinner. So have crackers or tortilla chips or flatbread crisps on hand. You’ll have plenty of salsa left and it’s too good not to eat with some crispy carbs.

Tilapia with Blueberry Salsa

Ingredients

  • tilapia filets (1 if you’re cooking solo, 2 or more if you’re with company)
  • salt and pepper to season
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 pint blueberries
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 1 Kiwifruit, peeled and diced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • crackers, chips, or flatbread

Directions

For the salsa, place the blueberries, jalapeño, kiwi, lime juice, red onion and salt in bowl and stir to combine.

Heat a pan on medium and add the oil. Season the tilapia with salt and pepper. Place the tilapia on the pan and sauté, for about 5 minutes until lightly brown. Flip once and sauté on the other side, about 5 minutes. Remove fish from pan once lightly browned and slightly flaky (it’ll be easy to break with a fork).

Serve the tilapia topped with salsa, eat any remaining salsa with crackers or save for later.

Leave a Reply

