…And we’re back!

1 Dec

You know how being on vacation feels wonderful, even if it’s just a long holiday weekend? And then you come back home, and BAM! Your apartment is a complete mess, you have 3 piles of laundry to do, emails to catch up on, work that has piled up…

Are you saying, “Bah! Excuses, excuses!” to me right now? Because you probably should. I could say that I didn’t bring my laptop and didn’t really have all my equipment at my disposal, but that would be a lie. So, I apologize for my laziness over the Thanksgiving holiday. But isn’t that what holidays are for, getting lazy?

ANYWAYS. I went to Champaign, IL for the holiday and came back as a stuffed turkey myself. The trip ended up becoming another one of my “foodcations”! I don’t want to sound snooty, but in very cold, wide open Central Illinois, there isn’t very much to do besides eat. Outside of Thanksgiving Day, all of our meals were spent indulging on the local fare. Which, surprisingly, was quite good.

I tried a Mexican torta for the first time, which is pretty much a REALLY awesome sandwich. This one was called a Milanesa, with of course, Milanesa-style beef. With cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and mayo, sandwiched betweem very soft and buttery bread. I’m determined to try recreating this at home. I just need to find a Mexican grocery somewhere in DC…

We visited the Original House of Pancakes, which I believe is a Midwest chain, so which one is exactly the original house, I do not know. But their Cinnamon Raisin Oatmeal pancakes are ahhh-mazing and perfect for frigid, 30-degree Illinois mornings.

And really, you can only find the best deep-dish pizza within a certain radius of Chicago, and Papa Del’s in Champaign happens to be in that radius. Unfortunately, I was too hungry at that time to bother snapping a photo of it.

As for Turkey Day itself, I want to give major props to my sister-in-law and her aunt for cooking a wonderful spread of dishes.

The star of the show was Sis-in-law’s huge Pumpkin Gingerbread Parfait. Ohmahgah. I must’ve eaten at least 5 servings of this dessert over 2 days. It’s simple but wonderfully creamy and cinnamon-y and perfect for the winter holidays. I’m looking forward to recreating this dessert myself, especially now that Christmas season is well underway.

Eggrolls on Thanksgiving?? Sis-in-law’s aunt made a ton of delicious lumpia, which is basically a Filipino-style eggroll. They’re just meaty and crunchy, and held us over nicely before the main meal was served. This shows how my family always manages to infuse some part of our culture(s) into the holidays. And I also wanted to tease you guys a little bit, because I’ve got a few Filipino food-centric posts coming your way…

2 Responses to “…And we’re back!”

  1. Lisa December 1, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    WANT! Specifically, want that pumpkin gingerbread parfait thing. Think we could cook this once I get my life back? 🙂

  2. TheNoviceNosher December 1, 2010 at 10:55 pm #

    Yes!!! Weekend project! Let me know as soon as you get your life back.

Leave a Reply

