A sweet conclusion

14 Jan

I kind of just wanted to toss in the last of the best I ate during my holiday vacation. But if you read this blog often enough, you’ve figured out by now that I don’t always like to throw photos up randomly without a little frou-frou. It’s Photoshop practice, and I like making captions more interesting than normal. So below are a few of my favorite sweet goodies that I pigged out on in California and in Florida. Hopefully, if you’re ever in those areas, these photos entice you enough to try the dishes yourself.

Bakesale Betty seems to be the awesome little bakery that only folks in the East Bay know about. Maybe some in the rest of the Bay Area do too, but outside of that, it’s a fairly well-kept secret. The Boyfriend raved about their strawberry shortcake and took me here pre-Napa morning to have a taste of some, but they weren’t making it that day. No worries, we just compensated by getting three different things. All the baked goods are fresh out of the oven, and delicious. Everything tasted wonderfully homemade without actually being made at a home, yet I didn’t get the sense that “well, I could probably make this myself.” There are only a handful of bakeries in the U.S. that haven’t compelled me to recreate at home, because the goods in-store are really worth the trip and the money. Bakesale Betty is officially on that list.

Another bakery on that list is Bouchon. I’ve raved about this place before so I’ll stop now from repeating myself. But seriously, how gorgeous and yummy do these macarons look? This photo is also slightly deceptive – the macarons are as big as my palm. (More deliciousness to be had!)

I know I didn’t say much in the past few weeks about my own hometown, Orlando. To be honest, I barely tried anything new and ate at home half the time. But I did have lunch with my “big sis” Liz at Hue, a new(ish) spot in the Thornton Park area downtown. My actual lunch – a jerk chicken sandwich with pineapple, caramelized onions, Chevre cheese and zucchini chips – was solid. Nothing profound, but delicious nonetheless, and the zucchini chips were addictive. But the cincher was their dessert du jour, a “Banana Split Pie.” It had a chocolate cookie crust with fudge, banana cream, whipped cream, chocolate mousse, nuts and cherries. It successfully encompassed all the flavors of an actual banana split and turned it into a creamy, luscious pie. I’m also too intimidated to try making this at home, but it was a special-of-the-day, once-in-a-blue-moon dessert. I just may be compelled to make it myself, so I can have those tastes once again.

One Response to “A sweet conclusion”

  1. lemonsandanchovies January 17, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    What a well-rounded foodie trip. You covered some of the best the Bay Area has to offer. Very nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

