Mornings

17 Mar

Happy St. Patrick’s Day and Top O’ the Mornin’ to Ya! Or afternoon/evening if you’re reading this at that time…

Mornings are very precious to me. I’m not naturally a morning person, but I don’t take for granted that I do some of the most important things of the day in the morning: I usually work out and I always eat breakfast, and if I can, I watch the news or I read through my favorite blogs.

I haven’t had many lazy mornings lately; there’s always a place I need to be by a certain time every day, wether that’s being at work on the weekdays or in class on the weekends. So despite there being a few extra hours to sleep in and lounge around on the weekends, I’m somehow usually rushing to eat breakfast, work out, shower and dress and possibly eat lunch as well.

Rushing or not, breakfast is never overlooked. It’s my favorite meal of the day and it’s actually the meal that I enjoy trying new things with the most. Lately I’ve been testing out combinations for smoothies, alternating between steel-cut and old-fashioned oats to decide which kind I like most, trying different fixings for omelettes…the list only shows how much thought I put into just 1 meal!

But I do have some staples that I tend to alternate with new ideas. These are usually fairly simple foods that fuel me well for the day and help me feel satisfied after morning workouts to last to lunchtime. I try to incorporate at least 1 serving of fruit somewhere in my breakfasts, and I rarely skip drinking at least 1 cup of coffee. I luurrrrve coffee. Especially if it’s Peet’s. 🙂

Coffee aside, one of the staples that I will probably never get sick of is eating peanut butter and sliced banana on toast. I realize this is a ridiculously easy recipe, but I love it and I figure maybe some of you haven’t yet tried it. I love that it can be tweaked depending on your mood – you can add nuts for extra crunch or chocolate chips if you’ve got a sweet tooth. Plus it has successfully fueled me for many a morning workout – it won’t leave you feeling too full or bogged down.

These toasts+Peet’s Coffee+new posts on my blogroll of favorites = awesome Saturday mornings.

Peanut Butter and Caramelized Banana Toasts

Ingredients

  • 2 slices of whole-grain bread
  • peanut butter
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • brown sugar
  • cinnamon
  • additional toppings: nuts (almonds, pecans or walnuts), honey, agave nectar, powdered sugar, maple syrup, chocolate chips

Directions

*When I first tried this, I preheated the broiler in my oven at its automatic setting and I had placed the toasts on the top rack – this ended up burning the toasts around the edges. So I’ve adjusted the settings below, taking into consideration the fact that the ovens in my apartment building are weird.

Pre-heat broiler at 400 degrees and place a rack on the 2nd to top level. Line a baking pan with parchment paper. Lightly toast the bread (I put it at 2 on the dial), then spread peanut butter on both slices (I use probably a tablespoon each – I love me some peanut buttah!).  Place the banana slices on top, and then sprinkle brown sugar generously on the banana slices. Pop the pan in the oven for about 2-3 minutes, or until the sugar has caramelized and appears darker brown on the banana slices. Remove and sprinkle cinnamon on top, as well as any toppings of your choice.

 

Do you have a morning routine? What’s your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

8 Responses to “Mornings”

  1. Recipe Chefs March 17, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide March 17, 2011 at 5:36 pm #

    I’m not a big fan of banana, but my wife is and my in-laws love banana sandwiches. They’d swoon over this recipe.

    • TheNoviceNosher March 18, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      Definitely pass it on to them and let me know what they think!

  3. mollyparr March 18, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    I’m not much of a breakfast person, but my husband eats this nearly every morning. He usually uses challah bread which we tend to have in the house rather than whole-grain bread.

  4. Jenny March 18, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    Loving the nanner toast combo! My favorite breakfast is definitely oat, I love it 😀

    • TheNoviceNosher March 18, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

      Thanks! I’m actually eating oats right now – I love them too, especially since there’s so many different things you can add with it.

  5. movesnmunchies March 21, 2011 at 10:36 pm #

    HOLY MOLY THIS LOOKS GOOD!!!!!! im such a morning routine gal!! and oats are always first!

Leave a Reply

