Finger-lickin’ good

23 Mar

Backstory: Some of my friends had been RAVING about Korean fried chicken for the longest time. Korean fried chicken, by the way is basically double-fried chicken. Obviously, that second dip in the fryer seals the deal that Korean fried chicken is ah-mah-zing.

I can’t really remember how long it had been, but my one gal pal Dorothy claims she told me about it over a year ago but for whatever reason I didn’t think much of it. At least not until my friend Mark started going to Bonchon Chicken in Annandale, VA. Then the stories started coming in of his frequent visits to this small, unassuming restaurant which I soon discovered is practically missable while driving, tucked in a small plaza.

[For those of you not in the DC-Maryland-Virginia area (DMV), Annandale is basically the Little Korea of this area. And is, unfortunately, not metro accessible.]

Anyways, Mark was always raving about this place. And then somehow, everyone else I knew had managed to go, and subsequently rave about it as well. I really started feeling like a black sheep until my friends and I finally made plans to drive out on a Saturday and just go.

This place is so popular that my friend Jen reserved a table and ordered 4 platters of chicken ahead of time, to make sure we’d be able to eat within a reasonable hour. It certainly was a good plan, since our chicken came to the table almost immediately after I and a few others arrived.

The best chiggin’ in the world

I had my first bite. And…ohmahgah. Literally, that’s the word sound that I make when I bite into something so delicious and indulgent. I start to slur my words. Korean fried chicken, at least the kind made at Bonchon (which is actually chain based in South Korea), is perfectly juicy and tender on the inside, seasoned well, with a thick, crispy, fried coating basted in soy garlic or spicy soy garlic sauce. It tasted tangy, salty, and just the right amount of spicy (for me, at least). It comes with pickled radish, that, when taken in one bite with a bit of rice, is wonderfully umami.

I had a moment with my last piece. Don’t judge me. Please.

By the way, that entire plate of bones is NOT all mine. Probably half was. Just kidding. But our group of 9 polished off the 4 plates of wings and drumsticks. Do you ever get full from eating, yet what you were eating was so good, you just want more? Wait, I think that’s gluttony. Let’s just say I probably should go confess to my priest about this sometime soon.

After dinner, and stuffed off chicken yet somehow not food-comatose, our group decided to go for some karaoke, in true Asian fashion. Annandale is not only the best area around for Korean food, it’s the best for Korean-style “get-up-and-embarass-yourself” type of entertainment. I gotta tell you, I rocked that mic. ๐Ÿ˜›

I am the next American Idol.

Can you tell what song I was singing to by the lyrics on the screen above my head?

So, I know I’m supposed to be all healthy and such, and typically I am. I did go for a 4-mile run earlier in the day in order to get my metabolism running in preparation for this event. But damn. If you’re going to take a break from salads and portion control, do so at Bonchon Chicken.

 

Have you ever done karaoke? What’s your favorite song to sing?

 

4 Responses to “Finger-lickin’ good”

  1. Sheridan March 23, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Hold it against me by Britney?

    I really love Don’t Stop Believing by Journey ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Lindelle March 23, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    I also resort to Britney for karaoke!

    I’m so glad that you had a great time in Annandale!! I really could devour a whole plate of Bon Chon in one seating … sadly!

  3. Jenny March 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Double fried chicken?! Omg that must taste insane. It looks so juicy ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. TheNoviceNosher March 24, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Hahaha yes it’s Hold it Against Me. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lindelle – Glad I’m not the only one who loves to sing Britney! Esp. since her range isn’t hard to immitate…

Leave a Reply

