Little Victories

30 Mar

I’m a big believer in noticing the little things that you achieve every day. I think it helps me remember that life is a blessing and that I should be grateful for everything (good and bad) that happens. I don’t shout out loud and jump for joy for every single little thing, but every now and then I feel better knowing that accomplished something, big or small. Things like, “I completed my homework early for Illustrator class! Woot! Now I can spend my evenings relaxing.” or  “I pumped out 3 miles on the treadmill – sweet! My heart will pump stronger and I’ll be a better runner.”  “I made a sandwich!!” Wait…what?

You guys probably know by now that I’m not a naturally talented home cook by any means, and that the novice in me continues to live on as I struggle to not burn my toast. But I think of little things that I haven’t really tried making before without a full recipe, and I try them, and they actually turn out good! Well, in my opinion. Hey – at least The Bf tried this as well, and he did enjoy it.

I don’t know anyone who doesn’t like sandwiches in some form. And anyone can appreciate the ease of making them, plus their portability, if the occasion calls for it. I’m especially a lover of warm sandwiches, the kind with melty cheese. So after a long dance practice one Sunday, with the rest of the afternoon and evening ahead of me and a couple of ingredients that I realized would go well together, I made this spicy Chicken & Chipotle Mayo sandwich. It’s probably similar to something you’d find at Wendy’s or some other fast food joint, but healthier. Quick, healthy, and tasty? Like I said, I’m all about the little victories.

Chicken & Chipotle Mayo Sandwich (for 1)

Ingredients

  • 1 chicken breast or 2 chicken tenderloins
  • Pepper Jack or Monterey Jack cheese
  • 2 slices of whole grain bread
  • 1/4 cup mayo (I lean toward light/fat-free and it doesn’t take away from the taste)
  • 1-3 chiles in adobo – depends on how spicy you like your mayo
  • juice of 1/2 a lime
  • chili powder
  • salt and pepper
  • optional fixings: lettuce, tomato, red onion, avocado

Directions

Preheat the broiler on your oven at 400 degrees and place a rack on the 2nd level to the top. Meanwhile, season the chicken with salt, pepper and chili powder generously on both sides. In a skillet over medium heat, add a little oil or spray with cooking spray and cook the chicken until no longer pink in the middle. Remove from the pan. With a food processor or blender, combine the mayo, chiles in adobo (with a little bit of the adobo sauce), the lime juice, and salt and pepper to taste. Set aside. Lightly toast the bread in a toaster. Arrange the sandwiches by placing the chicken on top of 1 slice of bread, and then the cheese on top of the chicken. Place this and the uncovered slice of bread on a baking sheet covered in foil and place that in the oven. Allow the cheese to melt, about 3 or 4 minutes. Remove from the oven and spread the chipotle mayo on the uncovered slice of bread, and top the chicken and cheese side with whatever fillings you choose. Enjoy!

If you haven’t checked out my video of Seasonal Pantry’s Underground Dinner, check it out here! This is another one of my little victories that I’m proud of putting together, so I hope you enjoy it.

Do you notice little accomplishments that you achieve in your everyday life?

One Response to “Little Victories”

  1. Jenny March 30, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Those chicken sandwiches look delicious! I love the chipotle mayo addition with some chili powder for heat. yum 😀

Leave a Reply

