Que dulce

1 Apr

I’ve been seeing dulce de leche pop up randomly in different desserts around the area – maybe they were always there and I just never noticed until now. Deep down, I’m a chocoholic, but after having a few very excellent treats with dulce de leche in or served with them, I’m officially hooked. I never managed to snap a photo of it, but the alfajores cookies at Dolcezza are just as good as their gelato – sweet, and a tad decadent, but small enough to satisfy your sweet tooth without going overboard.

I am especially loving the whole dulce de leche-chocolate combination, like the “Tessita” cupcake I recently tried at Baked and Wired in Georgetown. (Yes, B&W is better than Georgetown cupcake. I like Georgetown cupcake, but I refuse to wait in an hour-long line for theirs).

I know this looks like just another totally awesome yellow cake cupcake with rich chocolate ganache frosting, but hidden inside (which I didn’t realize until after I ate through to the middle), is creamy dulce de leche. Wow. I think this, hands down, was the best cupcake I ever had. If you live in DC, try it. And if you’re coming to visit, just avoid the line at Georgetown cupcake. You won’t have to wait at Baked and Wired for much better baked goods.

What’s your favorite cupcake flavor?

2 Responses to “Que dulce”

  1. Jenny April 1, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    I love dulce de leche. They have shakes at Häagen-Dazs that are amazing and filled with creamy Dulce de Leche flavor. So addicting 😀

    • TheNoviceNosher April 4, 2011 at 9:44 pm #

      OH! Yes I’ve seen the ads on Haagen-Dazs storefronts for those. I definitely need to try them!

Leave a Reply

