A bit of Paris in Bethesda

15 Apr

It’s certainly no secret that I love, love, lurrrrve macarons. They’re just so pretty, light, and if done well, full of flavor. I have fond memories of biting into the best macarons I’ve ever had at the mecca of macarons, Ladurée, in Paris. (Actually, all of the desserts there are to die for). Back here in the states, I found my favorite macarons at Bouchon Bakery in Napa.

Here in DC, there are quite a few places that make macarons fairly well, but I was never totally floored by any of them. But earlier this year, while taking photography classes at the Washington School of Photography in Bethesda, I passed by a yet-to-open storefront with the name Tout de Sweet. Later on, I heard that it was going to be a small bakery selling all kinds of pastries and desserts, including macarons.

Of course I had to try them eventually. Once it had opened, I managed to swing by the store on a Sunday afternoon. Let me tell you, this place is small, but it’s adorable. It has that chic Parisian feel. They have lovely display jars and a simple counter showcasing all the goodies available, from pain au chocolat to mini Opera cakes. And prices are totally reasonable – I don’t remember seeing anything over $5, and the macarons are $1.50 each, which is pretty much standard for macarons.

I can’t say much about the other desserts, but the macarons I took home were wonderful! I shared these with The Boyfriend and he was equally impressed. We tried chocolate, vanilla bean, coconut and raspberry. Each was full of flavor and had a perfectly crisp cookie shell with soft, creamy filling. I’ve had macarons that were either too subtly flavored or the merengue was too crumbly and fell apart easily.

If you’re ever in the Bethesda area, or willing to make the trek, I recommend this spot to satisfy your sweet tooth. And there are lots of restaurants nearby for grabbing lunch or dinner and following up with pastries from Tout de Sweet. That’s definitely my plan for the near future!

4 Responses to “A bit of Paris in Bethesda”

  1. FrenchtwistDC April 15, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    I thought Tout de Sweet’s macarons were great and I loved loved loved their pastries too. It is such a cute ltitle French place isn’t it?

  2. Jenny April 15, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

    How shameful I’ve never had a macaroon before! Omg these all look amazing 😀

    • TheNoviceNosher April 21, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

      You must try a macaron at some point! They’re so delicious.

    • FrenchtwistDC April 21, 2011 at 2:07 pm #

      If you’ve never had a macaron these are actually really good ones to start with. They’re pretty authentic.

Leave a Reply

