Kickin’ it.

19 Apr

I’m running an 8k on Saturday! I haven’t been in a race since I did the Susan G. Komen Global Race for the Cure 5k last June, and that was…well I wish I’d done better. The race itself was great and well organized, but I think I too eager too quickly running with the crowd instead of pacing myself. I had to stop and walk at one point, I felt a little pitiful about that. I’m not really running this to place. I’m hoping to do races more often and get used to running in crowds and pacing properly. My ultimate goal is run a marathon so I’m starting small, using training programs, and working my way up. 🙂

Learning about the best foods to fuel myself has been fun too. (You know I’d manage to tie this all into eating somehow). Before a long run, or if I know I’m doing any sort of cardio longer than 45 minutes, I like to fuel up with some carbs. I’m a big fan of Van’s waffles. Even if I don’t have a big fitness sesh planned, I still love chowing on these in the morning.

Pre-run I just nosh on one, digest for a bit and then hit the pavement. Otherwise, after gym workouts or rest days I’ll have two for breakfast, and I spice it up with fruit and nuts. My favorite combo: 2 waffles, a sprinkle of chopped walnuts, sliced banana, a small scoop of fat free Greek yogurt, and a drizzle of maple syrup. It’s filling, but doesn’t weigh me down, so I feel ready for the day after having this, especially before work or class. Literally, one morning I had this and enjoyed it so much I was all, I’m going to kick today’s ass! Yeaaaahhh!”

I'm gonna eat this and I'm gonna take back the White House!

As for after those long training sessions and difficult runs where I’m somehow out of breath by mile 2, I recover afterward with protein shakes. Now, I swear I haven’t gone all beefcake on you guys. And I consulted with my doctor dad on this – If you’re interested in protein shakes, I’d also suggest doing your research and talking to a doctor or nutritionist to see if this fits with your fitness and diet regimen.

Only good things in there!

I would continually get hungry at around 10am after working out and I’d read a lot about the benefits of protein with helping muscle recovery. So I ordered some whey protein and started experimenting with milks (skim, soy, almond), fruits (bananas, berries) and other add-ins (fat free yogurt, cocoa powder). It’s an easy way to get a serving of fruit. I also like to do the whole Green Monster thing and add a big handful or two of spinach (you can’t taste it at all) which I would think counts as a serving of vegetables. Right? 😛 It looks like sludge but tastes like a chocolate-banana milkshake.

This is what I mixed this morning post-run:

Shake, shake, shake, shake, shake it

  • 6 ice cubes
  • 1 cup of unsweetened almond milk
  • 6 sliced strawberries
  • 1-2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1 scoop of chocolate whey protein powder

Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend. If I don’t feel like adding the powder, I’ll put a scoop of yogurt and a tablespoon of cocoa powder instead and it still makes a tasty, healthy shake.

Have any favorite pre- or post- workout foods? Do you think I’m crazy for wanting to run a marathon??

5 Responses to “Kickin’ it.”

  1. Anna April 20, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    You’re welcome for introducing you to Van’s Waffles.

  2. Sheridan April 20, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    Good luck on your race! C and I just ran our first 5K a few weeks ago (Cherry Blossom) and we’re hooked.

    We’re running the Navy 5-miler in September. Join us? http://www.navy5miler.com/Registration.cfm

    • TheNoviceNosher April 21, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      Thanks Sheridan! I’m totes down for the 5-miler, thanks for the link!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mmm. Carbs and cream. « The Novice Nosher - May 11, 2011

    […] to catch you guys up on things, I did run that 8k I mentioned awhile back. And I ran the whole thing, never had to stop and walk! That was my main goal, to run […]

Leave a Reply

