Ain’t no thing but a chicken wing.

22 Apr

Do you guys ever get hit with completely odd cravings? Or cravings for foods that no one else likes? Part of me is thinking, “It’s pretty sad I’m going to write a blog post about this place.” The other part of me is saying, “But this was pretty awesome.”

This, my friends, is a blog post about Hooters.

Just kidding! OK, not really. Here’s the story: on Wednesday my colleague Lindsey mentioned she had been craving fried pickles for days. Lo and behold, I’m practically her only friend who actually likes them as well, and much to her surprise and delight, agreed to get some, somewhere in DC. (No, we are not preggers or anything like that, we just want odd foods at odd times). Thanks to a little bit of tweeting, some quick research, and randomly asking around, we found out that Hooters has fried pickles.  Linds was also craving lobster with melted butter and well, whadaya know. Ok, no, Hooters does not have lobster. But they have crab legs and that was close enough for her!

And so, after work, Linsday and I walked into the nearby Hooters in Chinatown (yes I realize how weird that sounds, but this is DC). We were still in our work attire, and we were probably 2 of about 6 women in there, not including the Hooters girls. I’ll be honest, I actually am not ashamed to eat at Hooters nor do I care that the waitresses have to wear the shortest shorts ever. There are tons of Hooters in Orlando and I’d been to them a few times, just to have wings and beers during a game. I kind of feel like other Floridians wouldn’t really care about eating at Hooters either, but maybe that’s just me. It’s just so dang hot down in Florida, everyone has to wear next-to-nothing in order to avoid sweating, so we’re not that far off from Hooters work attire. Lindsey, on the other hand, has never been to Hooters but did find the whole experience amusing. And she did want to hug each girl and tell them “It’ll be ok.”

Takes real women to eat like this.

So how were the pickles? They definitely hit the spot. Granted, I like my fried pickles sliced thicker (these were like fried sandwich pickles). But I enjoyed them nonetheless. Lindsey was practically writing poetry about the pickles and crab legs, she was so happy to have satisfied her 3-day long craving. I also splurged on wings, because it happened to be Wing Wednesday and wings were $5.99. The wings aren’t bad at Hooters so I knew I wouldn’t be disappointed, but after eating 2 fried foods for dinner I felt a bit icky afterwards. But sometimes, indulging a craving is totally worth it in the moment.

I realize that bloggers only show a portion of what they eat or cook on their blogs. I often eat leftovers or I just throw something kind of lame together like macaroni and cheese with broccoli. And sometimes I get my food from chains like Papa John’s (it’s actually my favorite pizza delivery), or in this case, Hooters. I think it’s interesting to see the stuff that people eat that’s not so pretty to photograph, or glamorous to talk about. Sometimes, all you want is some ugly, greasy, fried food. Not that plan on going back to Hooters anytime soon.

The greasier the food, the sleepier I look. I guess that actually makes sense.

How does she manage to make cracking claws look lovely?!?

Some folks on Twitter did let me know about other spots that offer fried pickles – we had decided to go with Hooters because they had crab and because it’s close to my home and the metro. But I’m definitely up for trying some of the other fried pickles spots: DC-3, Chidog-Os, Continential, Scion, Hard Times Cafe…anyone up for a fried pickle tour of DC?

Do you guys ever get odd or totally random cravings? Is there a restaurant you’re ashamed to admit you actually like?

3 Responses to “Ain’t no thing but a chicken wing.”

  1. Jenny April 23, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    I agree with you on the whole Hooters and FL thing lol It’s totally normal to me and the fries are delish 😀
    I’ve never had a fried pickle before! Omg gotta give that a try 🙂

  2. Meg April 30, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    Don’t feel bad… my friend and I met there for lunch last winter on a Wednesday. (Wing Wednesday. Nuff said.) She works near there and had been craving wings. We were also the only women in there, and the tables of men in suits gave us funny looks. Whatevs.

    • TheNoviceNosher May 3, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

      Hahaha yeah you pretty much have to walk into a Hooters with your head held high bc otherwise it could be an awkward situation. But sometimes ladies need greasy fried food just like any guy does!

Leave a Reply

