Waste not, want not

26 Apr

I’m a total leftovers kind of person. As a matter of fact, I have boxes and tupperware filling up my fridge right now. Other than breakfast, I haven’t had to cook since Friday! I’m also keeping my fingers crossed that everything is still edible…

The Bf and I are at odds over this constantly because he can’t stand eating leftovers. To him, nothing ever tastes the same the next day. He has no qualms about tossing extra food, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing because he never pushes himself to overeat for the sake of not being wasteful. I however, grew up in a household where I had to eat everything off my plate, and we believed that it was bad to waste any food because there are millions out there who go hungry every day. So what do you do? Be healthy and only eat the amount necessary but risk wasting food? Or eat everything and inevitably get a stomachache (or extra poundage, which I had for years growing up).

That’s why I don’t mind saving the extras and eating them for lunch and/or dinner the next day. And I do notice differences in taste or texture when it’s, you know, not so fresh. But I guess I’m so used to expecting a bit of a difference after reheating that I just overlook it. Besides, some things are actually just as delicious the next day – if not better. Chili, for starters. Indian food. Or, in the top photo above, a simplified version of Moroccan chicken, a recipe I tried last Thursday. It wasn’t so flavorful right after I cooked it but was much better the next day (and day after). On Sunday I accumulated even more leftovers after a trip to Bonchon for Easter lunch with some friends. The chicken wasn’t as crisp the next day after I reheated it in the oven, but it was still very tasty. It was also a great accompaniment to healthier parts of my dinner, sauteed broccoli & onions and a salad. Sometimes it’s good to balance those leftovers out with something fresh. 🙂

I’ll post the Moroccan chicken recipe soon! 

Are you a leftovers kind of person or is it just not good enough the next day? Did you grow up being told you had to finish everything off your plate?

4 Responses to “Waste not, want not”

  1. lbrieda April 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Not really a leftover issue, but many dishes, like stews or soups, actually taste better day or two later. The time gives the flavors a chance to blend together for a smoother taste.

  2. Sheridan April 26, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    I’m really picky about leftovers. There are only certain things I’ll do for leftovers (pasta, soups, stews). For the most part, if it’s not eaten by lunch the next day – I’ll throw out. I know this isn’t the most frugal, but for some reason I’ve always been turned off my leftovers.

  3. Jenny April 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I can eat leftovers like it’s no one’s business. Definitely not a picky eater and if it’s good I’ll probably keep having it 😀

  4. Meg April 30, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    My family was always huge on leftovers. Around once a week, we’d have clean out the refrigerator night, when my mom would reheat any leftovers that hadn’t been claimed yet and we’d have a hodgepodge of random stuff on the table. I pretty much live on leftovers now that I’m on my own. I purposely make double the amount I know I’m going to eat and save the rest for lunches, etc.

Leave a Reply

