Moroccan made easy

29 Apr

I love, love, love Moroccan food.  Well, at least the Moroccan food that I can get here in the states. I’ve never been to Morocco, and the farthest I’ve gone to actually eating the cuisine in the actual country was when I stumbled upon a great Moroccan restaurant in Paris a few years ago while vacationing with my family.

I just love how richly flavored the food is, and how it relies on combining all kinds of spices and adds fruits to savory dishes. My knowledge of Moroccan food is very, very limited, so I won’t say much on that. But I always imaged it that cooking Moroccan cuisine is difficult and very time-consuming. I’m sure it’s more of an undertaking than what cooking this recipe was like, which I actually found by clicking on a Campbell’s ad in a Tasting Table email. Don’t ask me why I actually clicked an ad on anything. I’m pretty sure the words “Moroccan chicken” caught my eye. And then when I saw how relatively easy the recipe is, I was determined to try it.

I will say this – the recipe needs tweaking. Moroccan food is supposed to be very flavorful, and yes, this is a very simple and Americanized take on it, but the taste left me wanting more. It was actually a bit better the following days when I ate it as leftovers, because some of the flavor of the chicken and the golden raisins seeped through the stew as a whole. I think next I try this, I’ll add more spices – maybe turmeric, cumin or coriander (or all three)? Or I could stop being a lazy American and just learn how to make an authentic Moroccan dish.

Moroccan Chicken Stew (via Campbell’s Kitchen)

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 8 skinless, bone-in chicken thighs (about 2 pounds)
  • 2 medium red onions, sliced (about 2 cups)
  • 1 large green pepper, cut into 1-inch pieces (about 1 1⁄2 cups)
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon curry powder
  • 1 can (10 3⁄4 ounces) Campbell’s® Condensed Tomato Soup
  • 1⁄3 cup golden raisins
  • 1 can (about 15 ounces) chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 1⁄3 cup slivered almonds, toasted

Directions

Heat the oil in a 5-quart saucepot over medium-high heat. Add the chicken in batches and cook until well browned on both sides. Remove the chicken from the saucepot.

Reduce the heat to medium. Add the onions, pepper and garlic and cook for 5 minutes or until they’re tender-crisp. Add the cinnamon and curry, (here I would add other spices, maybe some salt and pepper too) and cook and stir for 1 minute. Stir in the soup and heat to a boil. Return the chicken to the saucepot. Reduce the heat to low. Cover and cook for 15 minutes.

Stir the raisins and chickpeas in the saucepot. Cook for 10 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through. Stir in the almonds.

So are there any certain dishes or cuisines that seem really intimidating but you’re itchin’ to try?

5 Responses to “Moroccan made easy”

  1. FrenchtwistDC April 29, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Real moroccan food is hard to make… (I think). been trying to master couscous for years since it’s a family dish but it will just never be as good as my mom’s so I think I just kinda give up…

    • TheNoviceNosher May 2, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

      I don’t blame you. I will probably always just use boxed couscous – it’s too quick and easy not to!

  2. Jenny April 29, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I’ve never tried Moroccan food, weird huh? This dish looks so good and definitely not intimidating 😀

    • TheNoviceNosher May 2, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

      Definitely try Moroccan food! If you try this and you like it, you’re bound to like the real thing, or at least what you can get at a legit Moroccan restaurant (which unfortunately I know are hard to find in many cities).

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Moroccan Lentil Stew | Barkless Vegetables - May 9, 2011

    […] was reading Lisa’s Moroccan made easy recipe the other night and my mouth started watering. It reminded me of how flavorful and […]

Leave a Reply

