Brownie bits to bulgogi

17 May

I had a chance to try a few new things and places recently, as well as returning to a favorite. I was literally stuffed to the core by Sunday night, I had a full-on gut going on. Oh well. It meant a happy belly. Here’s where I ate, and what:

1. Pinkberry – DC got its first Pinkberry recently and despite having passed by Pinkberrys plenty of times in NYC, I never actually bothered to go into one until I had some downtime on Saturday in Dupont Circle. The district has been inundated with frozen yogurt spots within the past year, and the pool is only getting deeper with options. Frozen yogurt isn’t my go-to dessert (I like baked goods a bit more if you haven’t noticed), but this definitely hit the sweet spot. I like that that they have a small selection of flavors, not just the standard tart/original flavor. I had coconut fro-yo with strawberries, pumpkin granola, and brownie bits. Loved it! I’d never seen pumpkin granola at a fro-yo place before so I was happy to be able to try something really original.

2. The Karen Mary Co.’s Marshmallows – The Bf picked up some of this local confectionery’s marshmallows at the West End Cinema one day and gave them to me as a treat. Again – and I suppose I’m more particular about dessert than I realized – I don’t normally go for straight up eating marshmallows for dessert. But these were damn good marshmallows! We shared a bag of coconut marshmallows – soft marshmallows covered in toasted coconut – and strawberry marshmallows covered in dark chocolate sprinkled with sea salt. They turned out to be way more delicious than your standard marshmallow, plus I could snack on one or two and feel satisfied without risking a sugar overload. If you’re in the DC area, check them out.

3. The Chesapeake Room – I hate to admit it, having lived here for 3.5 years already, but I haven’t ventured far enough or often enough into Eastern Market and Barracks Row. It’s really a nice area, especially on a breezy, post-rainstorm, Sunday evening. The Bf and I decided to come here while walking around looking for a place for dinner. The menu is kind of small, but there is something for everyone – buffalo burgers, fish, roasted chicken, entree salads. We enjoyed this appetizer to start off, the Fried Green Tomato Crab Stack: two fried green tomatoes sandwiching a mound of Maryland crab salad, with fresh basil and a tomato jam. The combination of textures was my favorite part of this dish. There was crunch from the fried tomato and a nice creaminess from the crab, with a little bit of spice from the jam.

4. Honeypig – This is pretty much a staple among my friends and I whenever we’re way out in Virgina, whether that is Annandale (a.k.a. K-town) or Centreville (a.k.a. K-Town Jr.), which is where I was Saturday night. After spending a few hours at Spa World, we had worked up an appetite, and oh, how convenient! There’s a Honeypig here. There’s also a Bonchon Chicken here but we actually held ourselves back and deferred to Korean BBQ. Who doesn’t love beef and pig wonderfully marinated in the tears of angels? I mean, marinated in whatever they marinate the meat in. I have no idea. But it’s delicious. I’m particularly a fan of their Bulgogi and their Galbee, especially wrapped up in a huge lettuce leaf with some kimchee and dipped in the salty-gingery sauce they give you. When it comes to detoxing in a sauna and then eating back all that weight you sweat off, I’m convinced Koreans know how to do it best. I’ll happily follow in those footsteps.

Any great local restaurants that you’ve recently enjoyed?

4 Responses to “Brownie bits to bulgogi”

  1. Jenny May 17, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

    Glad you liked Pinkberry! I recently tried Menchies and Yogurtland and I love them both! 😀

    • TheNoviceNosher May 18, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

      Lol there are more fro-yo chains that I realized! I’d never heard of Menchies before. Heard of Yogurtland, but we don’t (yet) have those here in DC. 😛

  2. Ryan E August 19, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    HI! I am Ryan (the man behind the Marshmallows in #2). I just happened to do a search of my company name and found your blog. I know I’m a little behind the curve! 🙂

    Thank you so much for your kind review! I’m glad you liked the mallows… In the time since you’ve posted this, we’ve actually opened our online store, woohoo! It’s been great for us many thanks to people like yourself. Check it out! : http://www.karenmaryco.com

    Sincerely,
    Ryan

    • Lisa (The Novice Nosher) August 22, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      Congrats on the online store! And thanks for swinging by and taking the time to comment. I’m glad it’ll be easier to order marshmallows now!

Leave a Reply

