I got chocolate wasted at Serendipity.

8 Jun

Have any of you been to Serendipity in NYC? Serendipity 3 just opened up here in DC and after hearing all the hoopla about their frozen hot chocolate, I had to pay a visit. I told Mama Nosher about Serendipity and she became equally excited to try. So on Saturday, after lunch and a little shopping in Georgetown (I’m poor and I only go shopping when the parentals are in a giving mood), we opted for some dessert.

Unfortunately, we came right at a busy time – sometime after 2:30 – which I didn’t think would be busy, but I guess the post-lunch crowd wanted dessert like we did. After waiting probably 40 minutes, we finally got seated and Mom and I ended up sharing a frozen hot chocolate and their Red Velvet Sundae.


HELLO CRAZY BIG SUNDAE.

Yeah…I should’ve known that a sundae that includes a slice of red velvet cake was going to be a monster. Unfortunately, you can’t really see it under the mound of whipped cream in the photo above. I couldn’t even get through half of it and I honestly felt like a huge glutton after. You’d think that someone like me with a never-ending sugar craving would be able to demolish a sundae like that  (complete with hot fudge pool in the bowl – yum!).

The frozen hot chocolate was delicious, but I suppose with all the hype I was expecting something life-changing. I certainly enjoyed our desserts but they were so big, I felt a little like I didn’t eat my $12 worth…so I made a promise to myself that I could go again and order a sundae for myself only after I’ve run a half-marathon. I’d say if you’re going to go here, go on a weekday at an odd hour to avoid crowds, and come as hungry as possible.

On a food-related note, if you’re on Foodspotting, follow me!

And if you’re not on Foodspotting, and you enjoy eating out, giving restaurant recommendations, or just taking photos of your food, check out their site and join. As a food blogger, it’s only natural that I’m on a site that allows me to post photos of foods that I’ve recently enjoyed and would recommend, and I often use it to decide on a restaurant or a dish at whatever spot I’m eating.

And on a totally unrelated note, my friend Lindsey and I often talk about our experiences with traveling abroad. Homegirl has been to 40 countries – say what?? Yeah. No lie. Well, she just started a travel blog! It’s titled The Internationally Minded American, where she chronicles her traveling experience, gives awesome recommendations for different countries, and offers advice for anyone thinking of or about to travel (especially abroad). She has so many great stories to tell. So please check our her blog, leave a comment, subscribe, whatever – show her some love!

 

So tell me, what are some great places you’ve traveled to? Which one was your favorite?

4 Responses to “I got chocolate wasted at Serendipity.”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 8, 2011 at 8:29 pm #

    I love the idea of frozen hot chocolate. This sounds like a great place. And I can’t wait to check out your friend’s travel blog.

  2. Jenny June 9, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    Omg I so jealous!!! I’ve seen that place on TV, I gotta go 😀

  3. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 10, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Your friend’s blog is great!

    • TheNoviceNosher June 10, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

      Yay! I’m glad you enjoy it. She always has so many great stories about her travels so I’m excited to hear what she has to say next.

      Also, I really want to try the pistachio flavor now!

Leave a Reply

