I’m officially on the gelato diet.

9 Jun

If you read/watch the news at all, or check weather.com every day (like I do), you’ll know that the Eastern Seaboard has been, despite the fact that it isn’t even officially summer yet. Yup. It’s Sweat Season folks.

My ice cream and gelato consumption has jumped up at least 65% recently. While I normally go to local gelato shops for a fix, my sister recently introduced me to a very viable alternative; she spotted this gelato at the top of the ice cream freezer while grocery shopping and raved about the pistachio flavor. Pistachio wasn’t available but this  sea salt caramel was. I have good memories of salted caramel ice cream (I miss you, Bi-Rite), so I just had to splurge on this version.

 I don’t remember how much this was, but it was totally worth the price. Somehow the container lasted quite a few days. It was creamy, with a very rich caramel flavor and just a twinge of saltiness. Embedded throughout are tiny caramel-filled chocolates. I don’t think store-bought gelato gets more luxurious than this.

What’s your favorite ice cream or gelato flavor?

3 Responses to “I’m officially on the gelato diet.”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 10, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Oh they have that brand at Fresh Market here! I loved the pistachio.

  2. Sheridan Marfil June 13, 2011 at 1:42 pm #

    LOVE that pistachio! Did you find this at Safeway?

    • TheNoviceNosher June 13, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

      Yup! Found it at my Safeway. It was at the very top of the shelf in the ice cream section so it’s easy to miss if you look for it there.

Leave a Reply

