Thank you…

15 Jun

…to whoever invented Oats in a Jar. I already love the combination of peanut butter and oatmeal, but this is quite genius, especially since those perfectly delicious leftover bits of peanut butter often get thrown away when there isn’t enough to scrape onto a slice of bread. I’ve read about this many times on plenty of other food blogs but hadn’t tried it myself until now.

I did an overnight version by filling this jar the night before with equal-parts uncooked old-fashioned oats and almond milk. To that, I added a dash of cinnamon and vanilla. In the morning, I added chocolate chips and heated it for 30 seconds, stirred that and then added walnuts and sliced strawberries. It was creamy, nutty, slightly sweet and surprisingly filling since it didn’t even fill the entire jar. Oh, and it was a jar of this amazing brand of white chocolate peanut butter.

I’m already looking forward to when we finish our next jar of peanut butter…

5 Responses to “Thank you…”

  1. theinternationallymindedamerican June 15, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    YUM–great and creative post!

  2. Jenny June 15, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    I love love love oiaj!!! I had one yesterday 😉

  3. Sheena B. June 17, 2011 at 5:46 am #

    I love peanut butter co! You’ve inspired me, I’m going to have to try this.

  4. Healthy Coconut June 29, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    No peanut butter left behind…that’s what I say 🙂 Glad you finally were able to try OIAJ!

Leave a Reply

