These are a few of my favorite things…

29 Jun

Today’s a little something different on the blog…super wonderful Kat over at Kat’s Health Corner tagged me with this lovely award!

How sweet is that? This is totally new to me, so hopefully I’m doing this right. The only terms are that we answer the following questions about us. I love hearing tidbits about other bloggers; essentially this is a community and it’s nice to learn more about the people who’s blogs I read.

Here goes:

1)   Favorite cartoon character: Wall-E. I mean, how much cuter can a robot get??

2)   Favorite thing to photograph: Other than food, my nieces. Of course I fully believe they’re the cutest babies in the world. Whenever I visit my brother and his family, I take a million photos of them.

3)   Favorite thing to cook: I actually haven’t made it in awhile, but it would probably be Amatriciana, which is one of the first recipes my boyfriend and I tried together when we first started dating. It’s delicious and making it brings back a lot of happy memories.

4)   Favorite way to exercise: Running, hands down! I think I’ve talked enough about this before where this would be obvious. It’s not always easy (especially when there’s speedwork involved), but I enjoy going as far as my legs can take me while soaking in the scenery – which is especially nice when I jog around the monuments!

It ain't pretty, but I love running.

5)   Favorite Movies: Empire Records, Breakfast at Tiffany’s Singin’ in the Rain, Star Wars (IV, V, VI), Inception, My Fair Lady, The Hangover, Bridesmaids, The Devil Wears Prada, Pride & Prejudice (both the Colin Firth version and the Keira Knightley version).

6)   Clothing: My typical daily cycle of outfits are: workout clothes in the morning, then work clothes all day, and then I change into my fat pants and a giant t-shirt when I get home from work. It’s all about comfort when I’m at home. Otherwise, I’m always wearing flats or flip flops and a good chunk of my wardrobe comes from Madewell. LOVE their clothes.

7)   Flower: It’s a tie between orchids and peonies.

8)   Breakfast: Overnight oats!!! I’ve been eating them every morning this week. This is what usually happens with breakfast – I find something I really love and then eat it for weeks straight and then suddenly get sick of it and move on to something else. Any ideas for what I should try next?

9)   Book: I just finished reading Kara Goucher’s Running for Women, which was quite inspirational and informative, at least for a novice runner like myself. I also finished Creative, Inc. – also inspirational and informative but career-wise. Some of my all-time favorites: Wuthering Heights, Food Rules, Blue Like Jazz, Pride and Prejudice, On the Road, Blackberry Wine, and though it’s a play, I loved reading Twelfth Night.

10)  Least favorite food: Cauliflower. I can’t say I hate it because I’ll actually eat it ONLY if it’s been mixed thoroughly with other ingredients that mask it’s flavor. But I refuse to eat it solo, I don’t care how healthy it is.

I’d like to pass this along to 3 equally amazing bloggers: Sheridan over at Barkless Vegetables, Lindsey at The Internationally Minded American, and Meg at Fledgling Foodie. Tag, you’re it!

6 Responses to “These are a few of my favorite things…”

  1. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide June 29, 2011 at 5:50 pm #

    Congrats on the award, really deserved. And I like how you specified 4, 5 and 6!

  2. katshealthcorner June 29, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    I LOVE STAR WARS!!!! Whoot Whoot! My Fair Lady is AMAZING! 😀

    Your neices are SOOOOO CUUUUUUUUTTTTTTTTTTTTEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Lisa (The Novice Nosher) June 30, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      Aww, thanks hun! They’re too adorable not to photograph, right? Nice to see we have the same taste in movies!

  3. Jenny June 30, 2011 at 1:21 am #

    Yay congrats on your award! Overnight oats have been my go to breakfast too. It’s perfect for the Summer

    • Lisa (The Novice Nosher) June 30, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

      Thank you! Yeah, I’m glad I can turn a winter breakfast into a summer breakfast too. Sooo good.

Leave a Reply

